Engagement Series 

Initiated in fall 2020, the Engagement Series aims to provide supplemental educational activities for WJC community members while the College has temporarily transitioned to remote learning. The series features a wide range of fascinating topics, on subjects topical, practical, academic, and just for fun. In addition to the valuable educational content of these activities, the series provides a great opportunity for WJC community members to connect with one another in a safe and heathy environment, open to all. 

All activities are on Mondays and Thursdays at 5:30 pm. Recordings of select events will be posted below. If interested in participating, please register here


February 2021

Virtual Substance Use Treatment and Recovery During COVID Times 
Presented by Margaret Giles, MTS, MA
Monday, February 1, 2021

Public Narrative and Leadership Building
Presented by Brandi Derr, PsyD
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Recording Link

Guided Deep Relaxation for Stress Relief
Presented by Julie Yeterian, PhD
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Recording Link


March 2021

Communication and Support of Individuals who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing
Presented by Mari Carmen Bennasar, PsyD, and Sarah Aronson
Thursday, March 4, 2021

Inflection Points: The Intersection of COVID-19, Climate Change, and Systemic Racism
Presented by Jill Bloom, PhD
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Recording Link

Family and Work-Life "Balance" for Psychologists and Psychology Trainees
Presented by Marie Forgeard, PhD
Monday, March 15, 2021
Recording Link

Playing Games to Improve Team Communication Skills: Codenames
Presented by Julia Clement, MS, and Kristen Toohill
Monday, March 22, 2021


April 2021

How to Create LGBTQ+ Safe Spaces in Your Office and in the Classroom
Presented by Jessica Stahl, PhD, and Nilda Laboy, PsyD
Thursday, April 1, 2021
Recording Link
Presentation Slides (PDF)

Fidelity to the Inhibitory Learning Model, Functionality, and Availability of Free Anxiety Treatment Apps
Presented by Brian Ott, PhD
Thursday, April 8, 2021
Recording Link

Supporting LGBTQIA Youth in Schools
Presented by Robyn Bratica, PhD
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Recording Link

The Critical Thinking Quality Scale (CTQS) - A new model and measure of critical thinking for WJC students
Presented by Paul Block, PhD, and Jason Osher, PhD
Thursday, April 29, 2021
Recording Link

Past Events and Recordings Archive

Series (Multiple Dates)

The Business of Private Practice (series)
Presented by Ethan Pollack, PhD
Thursday, September 10
Thursday, September 24 (Recording link)
Thursday, October 8 (Recording link
)
Handouts and Sample Forms (PDF)

Writing a Literature Review / Literature Review Support (series)
Presented by Joan Axelrod, MEd
Thursday, September 17
Thursday, December 3

September 2020

Art, Story, and Healing: Medical Humanities, Narrative Medicine, & Mental Health Care (series)
Presented by Katherine King, PsyD
Thursday, September 3

The Complexities of Policing in America in 2020
Presented by Gerald Sweet, PhD
Monday, September 14

The Challenges and Complexities of Anti-Asian Racism during the Pandemic and BLM Movement
Presented by Catherine Vuky, PhD, and Aileen Lee, PsyD
Monday, September 28

October 2020

To WISC or Not WISC: The Role of Cognitive Testing in Diagnosing LD.
Presented by Jason Kaplan, PhD
Monday, October 5
Recording Link
Presentation Slides (PDF)

Having Difficult Conversations and Making Them Productive
Presented by Elana Wolkoff, PhD
Monday, October 19

Racial Disparities in the Criminal Justice System
Presented by Joseph Toomey, PhD
Monday, October 26
Recording Link
Presentation Slides (PDF)

November 2020

Bonsai Workshop (hosted by Asian Mental Health)
Presented by Catherine Vuky, PhD, and William Reed
Thursday, November 5

Guilt, Self-Blame & Moral Injury during Covid-19
Presented by Elana Weiner, PsyD
Monday, November 9

So, you want to be an ally? Let's take oppression as our own
Presented by Mari Carmen Bennasar, PsyD
Thursday, November 12

The Role of Psychological Expertise for Immigration Policy Affecting Children (Lessons from Lucas v. Azar)
Presented by Paul Block, PhD
Monday, November 16

Learning Community: Reading “How to be an Anti-Racist” by Ibram X. Kendi (series)
Presented by Bruce Ecker, PhD
Monday, November 30

The Role of the Clinical Mental Health Counselor

The Role of the Clinical Mental Health Counselor Today

Video Series

Mind(full) Series